Relay for Life-Decorating Luminaries

Hello, I hope everyone is having a good weekend.

Today, at Church, my mom asked me to decorate the luminaries she purchased for Relay for Life. If you’re a new reader or just visiting, my father died of cancer August of 2009. We had usually participated in Relay for Life through school but it definitely became more personal after he was diagnosed.

For more information about Relay for Life, click here.

Anyway, we had never decorated them before and I’d never seen them with anything but names on them but she insisted they needed to be decorated…..and they had to be done by 4:30 this afternoon.

Ahhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!

She had bought three (one from here, one from us kids, and one from the grandkids) and here is the grandkid one (They called him Poppy).

The other two were not done drying by the time I had to take them to my mom for delivery.  They are going to have a candle down in them on the track.  Hopefully, my dad’s will stand out……in a good way.

Thanks for reading!

14 thoughts on “Relay for Life-Decorating Luminaries

  1. This one was my favorite, although they all looked fantastic. I’m CERTAIN they will be the best looking ones there. Stinking talented family of yours. :)

  2. I love the card you created. My mother died of cancer so the Relay for Life is more personal to me too.
    Thanks for linking up with us at MFM. I couldn’t find your follower button so I followed you on twitter.

  3. Oh what a great tribute! Here I am getting all misty! A friend of mine lost her son to leukemia last year so Relay for Life is very near and dear. Love what you did with the luminaries.

    • It’s amazing how many people are touched by cancer. All the more reason for there to be more research to find cures and better treatments.

      Thanks for reading!

      Cara

  4. This is a beautiful way to celebrate someone’s life. Great job. Thanks for linking up on Share the Wealth Wednesday Link Party at Laugh, Love, and Craft!

  5. I am looking to decorate a luminari in honor of my son. He was only 6mths when the dr’s discovered that my sweet baby had NEUROBLASTOMA. He is now almost 16yrs old and I really want a cool bag this year. Thank you if you can help. Mitzi Gale

Leave a Reply

