First Bulletin Board: Connections Between Music and Core Subjects

20110806-074002.jpg

20110806-074048.jpg

The first thing students (and anyone for that matter) will see when they enter my classroom is this bulletin board. That is not chance.

I’ve only been a music teacher for 5 years but I’ve been a musician my entire life. I’ve had the privilege of working for and with those who see the immense value in music, not only as an art form or creative outlet, but as a valid educational program for students of all ages. I’ve also worked for and with others who think of music education as the means to them getting a conference period.

I’m hoping my new school is more of the kind that have a better view of what music ed really is as opposed to what it can do for them but, either way, I put up this board as an overview of everything music incorporates from the core curriculum. I did this last year on my door and got a good response (mostly from other teachers).

Anyway, enjoy! If you’re interested in any of the how’s or info on the board, leave a comment or email me miscellaneouscara (at) gmail (dot) com.

Thanks for reading!

Cara

7 thoughts on “First Bulletin Board: Connections Between Music and Core Subjects

  1. Hi Cara! Thanks for your blog and thanks for sharing your ideas and your enthusiasm!! :) I really like your bulletin board that connects the core subjects to music! Could you tell me what the smaller circles say, please?

    Thanks again!
    Laura

  2. Pingback: Connections Board Part 2 | MiscellaneousMe

  3. Hi Cara!, I love your ideas and really love the bulletin board. Could you tell me what the smaller circles say? I would love to use this on my door this March for Music in Our Schools Month.

    Thanks Heather

  4. Pingback: Music Connections YET AGAIN! | MiscellaneousMe

Leave a Reply

