4th Grade Performance- Let’s Revue: Songs from the Movies

Phew!  It has been a week.  Of course, having a program on Tuesday instead of Thursday was part of it.  When I woke up on Wednesday morning, I seriously thought it was Friday and was very disappointed that it wasn’t.  I like Thursday better than Tuesday because it gives me the whole week to get everything done.  The Tuesday after a week-long holiday was not my idea but you do what you gotta do.

Anyway, 4th grade did “Let’s Revue: Songs from the Movies” which turned out really cute.  Again, it was short….fifteen minutes but hey, when I see the kids longer than 40 minutes once a week, we can length it.  It took us 8 weeks to prepare for this one.  I can’t justify it going any longer than that and still have a quality musical experience inside the classroom.

I do have to say that, though it was short, the kids sang BEAUTIFULLY!  So many times, children lack good technique in favor of producing a loud sound and I know teachers who teach for volume.  I want my kids to sing out, of course, but I was so proud of them.  One of my favorites was “Over the Rainbow” and they did the octave jumps wonderfully.  Winning!

We did do some fast numbers like “Twist and Shout” (Ferris Bueller’s Day Off) and “We Go Together” (Grease).  Those were definitely crowd pleasers and you could tell the kids were having a blast.

Well, on to the next performances.  In the 11 days before Christmas break, the Choir has 4 performances and the 3rd Graders will be performing “A Bedtime Ballet” which is one of my favorite programs.  I will be playing in the orchestra at church in my hometown for their Christmas production as well so these are busy, busy times.

Thanks for reading!

One thought on “4th Grade Performance- Let’s Revue: Songs from the Movies

Leave a Reply

