The Teacher is IN!

The door to my classroom/building looks down a hallway and into the center of the classroom so if I’m not in the center of the room, you can’t really tell that I’m there.  It is especially inconvenient in the mornings during my conference when I’m in my office (which can’t be seen from the door) and I haven’t turned the main lights on yet (no sense turning the lights on in an empty room).

I’ve been thinking for a while that I needed a sign to say that I’m there…..and to say when I’m not there.  This is the creation from that train of thought.

I found the chalkboard frame at a craft store for $1 and had everything else (paint, fabric, paper, buttons, etc).  Notice the magnet underneath the dot of the “i” in “in?” It’s so I can add when I’m out!

Check it!

They are magnetic as well (the clothespin is) and I can store them on the side of door.

Anyway, we’re going to try this out this week and see how it goes.  It will bother me if it bangs into the door every time it opens so we’ll have to see about that.

By the way, these pictures were taken about my home NOT the school door in question….that probably seems obvious but I thought I’d go ahead and mention it.

Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “The Teacher is IN!

Leave a Reply

