Make New Friends (But Keep the Old)

There is a little children’s song (that can be a round, FYI) that goes

Make new friends but keep the old
One is silver and the other gold.

Being new to the area and being the only music teacher in my district means that I have really have to look outside to find professional contacts to collaborate with.  Thankfully, I have been lucky this way.

I first came in contact with Dee T. on the Musick8 e-mailing list (which, if you’re a music teacher, you need to join the conversation.  What an invaluable resource.)  I then starting following her blog Dee’s Place Online but it wasn’t until she wrote a post about Fiesta which is HUGE in SA that I made the connection.

Turns out, she taught last year at the elementary school not a half-mile from my home.  Now, no worries for all those who share my fear of the crazies…..in fact, in this situation at least, I think I’m the one who came off the most crazy.  Oh well, we ended up meeting the last week of school at Olive Garden and it was such a joy to meet with another crazy music teacher….actually two other crazy music teachers because she brought another teacher from her district, Debbie.

We are planning to work on lesson planning this summer and I am so excited to have the opportunity to collaborate.  I love my colleagues at LISD but it is nice to work and discuss ideas with those in similar situations as myself.  It is something I miss about previous places I’ve worked but something I’m willing to work on in my own time. :)

So, check out Dee’s blog and show her some love. And, if you’re in the SA area, I’d love to be your friend too! :)

Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “Make New Friends (But Keep the Old)

  1. I just sent Dee an email about you and your family. Just thought I would let you know. She would be lucky to have you for a friend. Hope you are having a great summer.

  2. Cara,
    Thanks for the mention on your blog! I, too am so happy to have met you and am so pumped to have found another “techie” teacher!

    How ’bout it, music teachers in San Antonio (and beyond)! Let’s get together and share!

    Dee

Leave a Reply

