Musical program decorations

I really didn’t know how good I had it at a school where the decorations were the least of my concern because SOMEONE ELSE took care of them.  Sigh……that was nice.

Not that I don’t enjoy doing my own decorations for musical programs at school…..It’s just ONE MORE THING on my already extremely full plate.

Anyway, since I didn’t have a blog at the time of these programs, I’m going to give a quick run-down.  Even if I’m the only one who reads, I’ll better remember since these are going to be going into storage after this school year (pending future decisions that are out of my control).

The top image is from the 4th and 5th grade musical at my home campus.  I wrote the script and mixed everything myself which took a ton of work but it’s worth it when the kids rock it out.  This was my first program to use my cricut.  Before this, I either had to manually draw and cut out letters (which looked like CRAP) or use the schools die-cut thing which also is unpleasant looking.

School #2 does not do the same programs as my home campus because of a huge difference in demographic and priority….translation: music is a big deal at one and a lot of kids participate and the other is quite opposite.  Very few children attend the performances at the School #2 which is sad for the children but something I have come to accept.

Anyway, they did a collection of holiday/seasonal songs for Christmas and their banner looked like this:

I cut the tree myself (which is why it kinda looks weird and lopsided) because the cricut expression cuts up to 24″ BUT it has to fit on the mat both length-wise and width-wise to cut.  You can manipulate the shape but you either have to have a Gypsy (which I don’t have) OR have the Cricut Design Studio software which is not compatible with Mac.  Rumor has it that Cricut is coming out with a new free software this next month that WILL be compatible for us Mac users.  YAY!

This next banner is from the 2nd & 3rd grade performance at the home campus.  Let me tell you, it was the cutest thing ever.  I did all the choreography to music from The Nutcracker, The Sleeping Beauty, and Swan Lake (all by Tchaikovsky) and the children were just precious.  They also sang songs about the moons and stars and such.  So cute!

The rest of the stage was decorated (by me) with stuffed animals and pillows so it looks like a child’s room.  I found a really easy tutorial for making giant, perfectly symmetrical stars to use against the back wall.

The K-2 program at school #2 was last night and didn’t take any pictures (mostly because I forgot my camera).  I actually made the banner for that one the old fashion way because I haven’t been home much during the evenings (and the time I have been has been spent sleeping!).  Their theme was WILD about animals and I’ll post the banner next week when I’m back over to take a picture of it.

Thanks for reading!!

6 thoughts on “Musical program decorations

  1. Pingback: Missed Me? | MiscellaneousMe

  2. Do you do all of these grade level shows in one year? If not, how do you
    Choose what grade level(s) do a show each year? LOVE your creativity!

    • Hi Megan,

      You asked if I do every grade level each year. I do because I highly value the performance aspect of teaching music. That’s just my perspective. I know plenty of music teachers that prefer to only do one or two performances a year with only certain grade levels.

      I believe, as music educators, we are easily under appreciated. Rather than stew about it, I try to raise awareness about my program as often as I can. Performances are just one aspect of that. They are also a great assessment tool. Music is a performance art and, the earlier a student starts performing, the more he will be willing in upper grades.

      Thanks for reading my blog and I hope this information helps!

      Cara

  3. Would you be willing to share you “Holiday of Music” script? I have been thinking of doing the same thing using some MK8 songs, plus adding a few others. I am just kind of stuck and need some ideas. Thank you so much. I love your blog and appreciate all you share.
    Nancy

    • Unfortunately, I just looked and I don’t have the file anymore. I have the script that came with the music but, since it is copyrighted, I can not share it here. Sorry. 😦

Leave a Reply

