Antique Sewing “Kit”

This little beauty has been in my mother’s dining room since I can remember and, yesterday, she let me have it (with the stipulation that I would not “repurpose” it or paint).  Sidenote: please ignore my awful table.  I don’t really respect the surface of this table; ergo; it looks awful from paint, glue, and marker remnants.

This belonged to my great grandmother on my dad’s side and it had lots of vintage goodies in it like vintage lace, ribbon from where my dad’s name was sewn into his clothes, vintage buttons.  It was so exciting to go through it all.

My FAVORITE thing in the entire “kit” was this pin cushion.  Isn’t it adorable?!?!?! So unique!  I’ve never seen anything like it.  LOVE!

Anyway, I can’t wait to use some of the treasures that I found inside!  Thanks for reading and I hope everyone is having a wonderful day!

One thought on “Antique Sewing “Kit”

  1. How very precious, Cara — you’re so lucky to have it! Not too long ago, I bought an antique sewing “kit” or table at an antiques/second-hand shop. I have no idea of its age or value, didn’t pay much ($50) but the store owner did advise that I never refinish it. Pooh! I bought it to paint and decorate it and use it in my guest bath, where it fits perfectly as a mini-vanity in front of the toilet. I stash spare rolls of TP in it, hand towels, some magazines, etc. I HAVEN’T refinished it and now have gotten to really love the dark wood beauty in it (even though it clashes with the more modern/light wood of the sink’s vanity).
    Beauty is certainly in the eyes of the beholder — and I ♥ these dainty pieces of furniture. ~ Ellen ♥ CardMonkey

Leave a Reply

