Styrofoam Decor Balls

2 things about me:

#1-I’m cheap. I like to spend money….oh yes….but I don’t like to spend more than I think something is worth and very rarely do I think things are worth enough to pay full price for. There are exceptions. My computer for example….spared no expens

e because I needed something dependable for work and like Macs. However, for the most part, I’m pretty cheap.

#2-I don’t want to be like everyone else…….not that I want to be different on purpose but I don’t want to be generic. I think that’s why I don’t really like Walmart. It’s just everywhere and I’m bombarded by it. If I’m going to have something in my home or use something, I want it to have a story and some character. Again, this doesn’t apply to everything but this is true for the majority.

All that to say, I had not jumped on the “decorative balls” (okay, I can’t help but giggle) band-wagon because of the expense and the because I haven’t really found any I liked until now.

I saw one at Joanns about a month ago and it’s regular price was $7.99. Although it’s super cute, I’m cheap and that’s too much for decorative ball (giggle, giggle).  Luckily, when I was there Friday, they were marked down 50%.  $4 is still too much for my taste but I bit the bullet and bought 2 (though I may be taking one back).

All that madness led to me needing more decorative balls to go with the one(s) I bought at Joanns. I found a tutorial online about doing a flower ball with styrofoam and paper.

I didn’t have quite the same punch the tutorial used but I think I made it work.
Here are my supplies (and my ugly craft table):

Supplies: styrofoam ball, paper, flower punch, straight pins

It was easy-peasy to put cover the ball by overlapping the flowers. My sister, Caitlan (who, by the way, HATES crafting!!!) was so annoyed with me because she thought this would take forever. It didn’t.

And, it only cost $1.50 plus I got to share it with you!

Thanks for reading!

4 thoughts on “Styrofoam Decor Balls

  1. Hi Cara … I don’t have a tutorial to go with, but I posted one of these “pomander balls” on my blogsite in February. I carved a spot in the styro-ball into which I inserted a lavendar scented sachet, and it STILL smells great (far better than paper and styro!). I cut my flowers out using my Cricut, and decorated the straight pins with pearl beads for the center. When done, I mounted the pomander on a ribbon-wrapped candlestick. I took a picture of it on my mantle, where it still sits today. Like you, I didn’t think I’d want or “neeeeeed” one of these, but it’s very pretty and Spring-y.

    Here’s a link to my post, if you’re interested in seeing it: http://cardmonkey-business.blogspot.com/2011/02/spring-fever-hop-bloom-where-you-are.html

  2. Pingback: Rosette Ball | MiscellaneousMe

Leave a Reply

