Rosette Ball

You may remember a few decorative “balls” (giggle, giggle) I’ve made with styrofoam.  Click HERE for paper ball tutorial.  Click HERE for felt ball tutorial.

Well, I wanted to place the original felt ball on a candle holder thingy that I got at a garage sale (okay, it was given to be by a friend at the garage sale we both had stuff in.  I asked her to take my money but she refused.  Thanks Rachel!) with the two paper styrofoam balls and two balls I got at Joanns in their Cottage Boutique Collection.  However, it was way to big and it looked strange up there so I made another one in red and put on the other side of the room and took this one apart.

The rosettes are easy to make.

1.  Cut a square piece of felt (or fabric, or paper, or whatever)

2.)  Cut said square into circle-y shape.

3.) Proceed to cut into a spiral from the outside in

4.)  Wrap like a burrito from the outside in.

5.) Secure in the middle with adhesive.

I swear there are WAY better tutorials out there with pictures and better wording but that’s just not happening today.

Anyway, here is how the final project turned out.Sorry for the shadows.  I took these pictures at night.  I don’t get the best lighting in my house which is wonderful in the summer because it doesn’t cost a lot to keep the house cool but not that great when taking pictures.  Also, I’m a pretty crappy photographer so that can’t help.

Thanks for reading and hope you have a great day.

14 thoughts on “Rosette Ball

  1. Beautiful home decor! These balls remind me of my wedding bouquet – which was a ball of different red flowers and hung from a ribbon from my arm like a purse…

    • If that’s what you were thinking then that’s what’s I was going for! LOL!

      I love that color blue. There is something soothing about it yet it’s cheery.

      Thanks for dropping by!

      Cara

  2. They’re very pretty! I’ve always felt that I don’t have the patience for them, but seeing them again makes me think I might have to give it a try anyways. 🙂

  3. this turned out so great! i love how it looks on that tiered stand, awesome!! 🙂 Thanks for linking up to Your Whims Wednesday!! Hope to see ya again this week 🙂

  4. Beautiful! And I have the same problem with lighting at my house, and I am not a great photographer either! Anyway, thanks for linking up to Fantastic Friday.

Leave a Reply

