28 Days-Day 22: Favorite Songs

First of all, I have been such a bad blogger when it comes to these lists because I have posted in 3 days…..I know, not that long really and probably a welcomed break for my readers who find me exhausting.

Anyway, I had the honor of playing in the orchestra at church for the Easter services. On that note, Happy Easter! What a blessing to be forgiven and saved by grace. How different my life would be if I didn’t have the arms of Jesus to rest and find salvation in.

Although playing with such a talented group of musicians (and others) was a real treat, it was quite exhausting.  We rehearsed three nights last week for multiple hours and then had a total of 4 performances.  As a pianist (well, keyboardist for these performances), that was pretty rough of my back which has been giving me issues already.  Loved it, but I’m so tired.  Anyway, that is my main reason for being behind.  I probably could have posted yesterday but, because of the service last night, I had to go buy pants that didn’t have holes in the crotch (not being dirty but you’d be amazed at how many pairs of pants I have that get a hole there…..yet I still wear them.)  I was center-stage so I had to make sure I looked appropriate.  Also, my hair had been looking like a bird’s nest lately so that took a two hours to wash and brush out that madness…..dang you curly long hair!!!

To the list!!!!

I have gathered for you my favorite songs.  These aren’t really the songs that listen to all the time…..in fact, most of them I listen to rarely but they have stuck with me as favorites.  These are not the songs that I wear out about 100 listenings in a week’s time.  These are keepers.

Again, in no particular order:

“Thank You For Loving Me” by Bon Jovi (youtube video for this song HERE)

I loved this song the moment I heard on VH1.  As a hopelessly romantic teenager assuming that all relationships where like disney movies, this song personified my desire to love someone and be loved in return…….too bad I’m me and not a disney princess.  I still love this song.  I’ve always loved the power ballads…..I like to turn non-power ballads into power ballads.  Just ask my college piano professor!

“Calling You” by Blue October (youtube video for this song HERE)

I first heard this song while driving the 5 hour trek from my university to my parents’ house.  It was a mix CD my brother had given me.  Note: just now, was the first time I watched the music video and I didn’t love it.  It would not included in favorite music videos.  Again, I like the love songs.  Are you seeing a trend?

“Hands Down” by Dashboard Confessional (youtube video for this song HERE)

I got nothing but I love this song…..especially the bridge/ending.

“Turn to Stone” by Ingrid Michaelson (Youtube Video for this song HERE)

Such a beautiful song. I love the orchestration near the end.

“Unchained Melody” Righteous Brothers (youtube video for this song HERE)

I saw them in concert in Las Vegas when I was 18. I may have been the youngest person in there (besides my sister). I love this song. I imagine waltzing in the living room in the ’50s.

“Make Your Own Kind of Music” Mama Cass (youtube video for this song HERE)

This song makes me feel good. I hope it makes you feel good.

“You Don’t Know Me” by Ben Folds featuring Regina Spektor (youtube video for this song HERE)

Great song. Weird Video.

“The Luckiest” by Ben Folds (youtube video for this song HERE)

I am a big Ben Folds fan. Not only is he a talent musician but his songs are amazing. I could have a Ben Folds Favorite song list (For sure, it would include “Annie Waits,”Fred Jones, Pt2,” “Fired,”Jesusland,” “Magic,” “Landed,” “Not the Same,” the list goes on.

“Such Great Heights” by Postal Service (youtube video for this song HERE)

“Such Great Heights” is Such a Great Song! Postal Service is greatest itself but this is definitely my fav. Also, as my brother has proved, this has to be the perfect slideshow song.

Well, there is my random list. I hope you will check out some new music. Being a musician, people (and students) ask me about what I listen to or my favorite song but rarely have they heard of most of them. Hopefully, this will educate you, dear reader.

Leave a Reply

