Note to Self

I subscribe to Your Kick Ass Life which is written by Andrea Owen and every Monday I get a Kick Ass Quote. I need to get this one tattooed on me somewhere (which is something I do for people who don’t me well). The only problem is this would be a really big tattoo and I like to be a tad more discreet. Oh well….check it out….

“Don’t take anything personally- Nothing others do is because of you. What others say and do is a projection of their own reality, their own dream. When you are immune to the opinions and actions of others, you won’t be the victim of needless suffering. “ -Don Miguel Ruiz (#2 of The Four Agreements)

Wow! I knew that but it’s hard to put that idea into practice….especially when you’re a born people-pleaser that is WAY too sensitive for the general public.

A couple years ago, I was in a situation that I know was not about me or anything I did.  For the purposes of this post, I will name this person Bob.  I did everything I could to please Bob and be everything to Bob that I possibly could but it was never enough. I spent over a year always looking behind my back, always ready for the onslaught of attacks from Bob.  It is only in retrospect that I realize how much it brought me down and how Bob made me feel like less of a person.  How much internal suffering I would have saved myself from if I could just remember that this problem was Bob’s, not mine?  How much physical and emotional distress would not have been in life if I could believe and be immune to Bob and everyone else for that matter?

This is something I am choosing to work on.  Even now, in my current situation at work (which is basically the fact that, in less than four weeks, I will be unemployed), I am choosing to BELIEVE that it is not about me.  This situation is a tad easier to apply this thought to since I highly doubt that the state of Texas is attacking me personally by not funding education the way it should also I saw the tears in the eyes of the superintendent when I sat three feet away from him with tears in my own when he told me they were letting me go.  Is it fair? Not at all.  Is it about me?  Not at all.  All I can do it accept my future and plan for the next part of my life.

We’ll see how this goes….

If you would like to some Kick Ass Life Coaching, visiting Andrea Owen’s site, Your Kick Ass Life,. If you sign up for your weekly emails, you get a free e-book sent to you for download.

Thanks for reading and I hope you have a wonderful day.

Also, if you don’t mind voting for me on Picket Fence Blogs, I’d appreciate it!

3 thoughts on “Note to Self

  1. I’m glad it helped you Lyndee and that you shared it with others. It is quite liberating to say the words out loud…..now, putting it into practice, that’s going to take work but we’re up for it!

    Have a great rest of the day!

    Cara

  2. Cara,
    When I started my teaching career I too was pinked slipped. At the time it seemed to be the end of the world. But looking back I can now see it was a growing opportunity and it helped me move on to what was an even better job. I know it is scary right now, buthang in there. I will keep you in my prayers:) And if you ever need an encouraging word during the job hunt, drop me a note on my blog:)

Leave a Reply

