30 Day Film Challenge: Film That Reminds You of Somewhere

When I was 18, my drill team went on a cruise and performed on the ship. It was a blast. Of course, because we were stopping in Mexico (Cozumel), my mom had to go. She just could not sent her baby to a foreign country (even Mexico) without her going too.

Even though she embarrassed me at times, it was actually really fun to have her there.  Plus, I didn’t have to worry about money because I had her there…….he, he, he….

Anyway, one evening, the “show” of the night was different songs from films.  I don’t remember it all but I do remember my favorite number which was “America” from West Side Story. Not only did I already like the song, but the performance of it live was wonderful.

So, that’s the film (West Side Story) that reminds me of somewhere (the cruise ship and the cruise itself).  Everytime, I see that movie, I think of the cruise when that song comes on.  Of course, I also want to jump inside the movie most of the time so…….

This challenge was hard.  I really had to think back.  I honestly don’t watch that many movies anymore.  I haven’t gone to the theater in months and I don’t really watch DVDs either.  Of course, I don’t really watch tv either.  I did watch the Grey’s Anatomy finale on hulu last night but that’s been all the tv I’ve watched all week.

Anyway, that’s a lot of random information.  Thanks for reading and have a wonderful day.  I’m off to a birthday party for a 2 year old!

2 thoughts on “30 Day Film Challenge: Film That Reminds You of Somewhere

  1. Rock Around the Clock is the movie that reminds me of some place else. 1957, Washington D C after school at the Capitol Theater for the opening of the movie. Bill Haley (of the Comets) and The Platters greeted the people (teenage girls) and gave us signed records of Rock Around the Clock. Have seen the movie a couple times thru the years, but hear the song often on oldie stations. Still picture Bill and the Platters standing there shaking hands, with no poparazzi and body guards. Can you imagine it if it were today? I mean they were the Beiber, etc of the day.

Leave a Reply

