What I’m Reading….

Tuesday and Wednesday were testing days here in Texas and my main job for both of those days consisted of making sure girls didn’t talk in the restroom and relieving test administrators to take a break.  In some ways, it was nice to take a break from the frenzy that is my classroom but, it soon got quite boring.

This book helped get me through those two testing days.  I’m not finished with it but I made quite a dent in between listening to the bathroom and monitoring testers.  It is not an easy read but it is full of quality information.  I wish I had had this book when I first started teaching (or before) so I could have had a basis of the music teacher’s responsibility in working with special needs students before I stepped into the classroom.

I bought this book after watching the author, Alice Hammel, at the Texas Music Educator’s Association Convention in February.  I spoke with her later about some of her ideas about aiding participation of special needs students.  She is a wealth of knowledge and her website has awesome resources as well as the book which has an entire section dedicated to resources for music teachers working with special needs students.

Alice Hammel’s website HERE.

Thanks for reading (my blog) and I encourage all my music teacher friends to check out this book!

Leave a comment