It’s Okay to Not Know…..

I grade on participation.  That’s it.  That’s all my students have to do to earn the highest possible grade in my class.  You’d think that would be easy.  Participate……Try……..I’m not even a crazy stickler for how hard they try if they are giving me some effort because I understand that music is not everyone’s thing.  Plus, I was quite the shy child growing up (no one believes me but it’s true) so I understand that not everyone is going to be excitedly raising their hand or singing at the top of their lungs.  Some students are not risk-takers.  Some students have a lot going on in their lives (parent deployment, bullying, etc.)  I’m not a pushover but I’m fair (Note: fair is not equal) yet there are always a couple students that require more reminders than the majority.

Note: a participation grade is not a form of assessment.  Participating in my class does not guarantee that students are proficient in the objectives we are working on.  I already fight to be taken seriously as a teacher but that’s a whole other soapbox that I won’t get to.

Even though my students know my expectations, participation can sometimes be a battle.  It is not a frequent battle because, not to brag but, I’m good at my job.  I’m good at creating quality and enjoyable lessons.  I’m not the best music teacher ever but I strive to be some day.  Even still, participation can sometimes be like pulling teeth.

I found this phrase on Pinterest and redesigned it for my classroom.  It’s not going to solve every problem but it is a visual reminder I can point to.  Enjoy!
It's okay to not know poster

it's okay to not knowBirdy Version is available for download in my Teachers Pay Teachers Store

Thanks for reading!

Name for blog

2 thoughts on “It’s Okay to Not Know…..

  1. Pingback: Mistakes are Proof Poster | MiscellaneousMe

Leave a Reply

