I Give a HOOT About Music: Advocacy Month and a New Bulletin Board

March is Music In Our Schools Month and I’ve been late to the game.  Well, I’ll rephrase that, my store has been late to the game.  I’ve had these ideas that sit in wait until I can get down to creating and sometimes my real job gets in the way of my creating…..nevermind, I think that’s the way it’s supposed to be.  Ha!  Creating is just so much fun though!!

At my campus, I asked each teacher to send me their personal musical histories (i.e. band, piano lessons, choir) and made 30 second mini videos with the facts for students to guess which teach.  There is one each day and it airs on the morning announcements. I’ve had a great response from both the teachers and students.  What’s funny is the kids keep thinking each one is me and are surprised when it’s someone else.  The idea is for them to see that music doesn’t start and end with me.

Anyway, this bulletin board kit (and bunting add-on) was inspired by how wonderful music is and how beneficial the study of music is.

Click image to see it in the Store!

Click image to see it in the Store!

This is the header image with the title.  There is also a banner below but it is sold separately.

Hoots About Music Bulletin Board KitHoots About Music Bulletin Board KitHoots About Music Bulletin Board KitThis is just a sample of the fun benefits of music.  I wrote them in first person so students could read them to themselves (like affirmations).  There is a total of 14 half page sentences.

Hoots About Music Bulletin board kit

This is an add-on included in the file for students to write the benefits of music in their own words.

Hoots About music bulletin board bunting

hoots about music bulletin board bunting This bunting banner is sold separately (for now).  The top image is what the whole thing looks like put together.  The bottom is an example of each individual piece.  There are two on a page so that gives you an idea on the size.  The owls were just so cute.  I couldn’t resist.

Credits:
The owls are used with permission from PrettyGrafik
E
lementary Dots Font, Scribble Font, backgrounds, and frames from Lovin’ Lit

Enjoy!

Name for blog

4 thoughts on “I Give a HOOT About Music: Advocacy Month and a New Bulletin Board

  1. Pingback: Update on I Give a Hoot About Music Bulletin Board Kit | MiscellaneousMe

  2. Hello!
    I was wondering what size you print these? Do you print the “I give a hoot about music poster” on 11×14 poster or just an 8 1/2×11? And the other half pages on 8 1/2×11 cut in half? Just wondering if I should take them to office Max to print on cardstock? Is that what you do?
    Thank you!

  3. The “I Give a Hoot About Music Poster” is formatted for 8 1/2 x 11. I like taking them to Office Max for the quality because I tend to use a lot of color in my designs but your regular printer should work as well.

    Thanks!

  4. Pingback: Music Advocacy Bulletin Board Ideas

Leave a Reply

