Cara’s Favorite Tech Tools: Kahoot!

I’d heard about Kahoot before (several times in fact) but this week was the first time I used it in the classroom.  I got to say, it was a big hit.  Students were completely engaged in the quiz.  My only complaint is that, they were so engaged, they were a so (and way too) loud.  I know, learning is supposed to be loud but, yikes!  Anyway, I’ve created a tutorial for anyone who would like to create a Kahoot for their classroom.  I’ve also included the links to the Kahoots I’ve already created for your use.

Creating a Kahoot

Creating a kahoot

creating a kahoot

creating a kahoot

creating a kahoot

creating a kahoot

creating a kahoot

Kahoot.008

I really like the feature to embed a video.  I used the Mission Impossible cover by the Piano Guys and Lindsey Stirling.  The kids loved it!

Like I previously mentioned, you can search for and use Kahoots created by other teachers.  Why reinvent the wheel if you don’t have to. 🙂

searching for kahoots

organizing the kahoots

If you’re going to use someone else’s Kahoot, make sure it is appropriate and pertinent to what your students are learning and need to be assessed on.

before the kahoot

before the kahoot

Next, I’ll go through instructions for playing the quiz in the classroom.  You’ll see what will be on the teacher screen (which should be projected for all students to see) as well as what students will see on their devices.  On that note, kahoots can be played on pretty much any format with a modern web browser and an internet connection.  Whether you have a classroom set of iPads, iPod Touches, Chromebooks, or a mixture of whatever you’ve been able to scavenge, this tool can be used in your situation.  If you don’t have enough devices for each student, you can consider dividing the class into groups that will share a device and compete with the other groups as a team.

playing kahoot

playing kahoot

playing kahoot

playing kahoot

playing kahoot

playing kahoot

playing kahoot

This process continues for each question: Question, Answer Graph, Stats.

playing kahoot

after the kahoot

I LOVE the data these quizzes provide.  You can see the overall scores as well as data for each question.  It is even color-coded for you (COLOR-CODED!!!!).  You can also go back and get data from previous rounds of the game.

after the kahoot

If you’d like to test out Kahoot, here are links to the quizzes I’ve already created.  You can preview each quiz to get a sense of what you and your students will experience beyond the loud excitement of your students that will be a special gift in the moment.  Ha!

Star Spangled Banner History and Vocabulary

Rhythmic Symbols Review

Instrument Identification and Families Review

I hope you enjoyed my intro to Kahoot.  If you would like more FAQs, Kahoot has already taken the liberty to answer a lot of the questions that usually come up.

Thanks for reading!

Name for blog

2 thoughts on “Cara’s Favorite Tech Tools: Kahoot!

  1. Cara!
    You are awesome! I am so thankful for your post. I have been thinking of creating quizzes but could not find time to do so…
    I am thankful for your creativity and sharing this wonderful experience!

    Blessings!

    Nona

  2. Pingback: Rules Can Be a kaHOOT! |

Leave a Reply

