Do You Youtube? Sites & Tools to Enhance Your Youtube Experience

I love Youtube but it really isn’t suitable for teachers to use on the fly. Screen Shot 2016-02-07 at 4.50.39 PM.png

Luckily, the above video and side videos doesn’t have anything inappropriate but that rarely is the case for me.  For example, my students wanted to see a commercial using “Carol of the Bells” played by NBA players that they had heard about.  It is a cool video but, the one time I tried to watch it on the fly, there was an inappropriate commercial before the video AND videos on the side that I wouldn’t want seen by my students. I don’t know.  Maybe I’m a little on the censorship side?  It’s only because I don’t want to get in trouble.

DISCLAIMER: Be wary of copyright issues.  Don’t claim anything is your own if it’s not.  These are things I use in my classroom or for personal use.

Anyway, here are my suggestions to enhance your Youtube experience.

1.) Sites to filter out those annoying advertisements, comments, and the like

Screen Shot 2016-02-07 at 4.39.20 PM.png

Screen Shot 2016-02-07 at 4.58.56 PM.png

Safeshare.tv and ViewPure are my two go-to sites for filtering out all that stuff.  Here is an example of what it looks like:

Screen Shot 2016-02-07 at 5.02.27 PM.png

SafeShare.tv gives you the option to “Dim Lights” like you’re in a theatre which limits the distractions even more.

Screen Shot 2016-02-07 at 5.03.49 PM.png

Safeshare.tv also allows you to download the video which is pretty great for when the internet isn’t dependable and/or you want to embed them in your lesson plans.

2.) Sites to Watch a Specific Part of a Video and/or Chop a Video

Screen Shot 2016-02-07 at 5.09.11 PM.png

Youtube Time allows you to pinpoint a specific starting point in a video and save a URL to that specific point.

Screen Shot 2016-02-07 at 5.10.47 PM.png

TubeChop allows you to pinpoint not only a starting point but an ending point as well.  This works well for long videos or videos that have inappropriate scenes.

3.) Sites to Isolate the Audio of a Video Clip

Screen Shot 2016-02-07 at 5.14.52 PM.png

YouTubemp3 allows you to download just the audio of a video clip.  This is handy.

Screen Shot 2016-02-07 at 4.39.20 PM.png

Safeshare.tv also allows you to download just the audio among the many other options.

4.) My Fav Site for Organizing Videos

I realize that it takes a lot of seemingly unnecessary work to find a video, filter it through a website such as SafeShare or ViewPure, and chop to the part of the video you want BUT, if you plan to use the video more than once, the time is totally worth it.  To organize videos, I use Symbaloo.

Screen Shot 2016-02-07 at 5.18.26 PM.png

I’ve blogged about it before: here, here, here, and here.  LOL!

I use Symbaloo every day for different purposes.  The board above is my Dance board which the kids adore.

I also use it as my homepage with all my starting links for each day: email, ClassDojo, Gradebook, Facebook, Twitter, etc.

5.) Tools for Creating Lessons from Your Videos

Screen Shot 2016-02-07 at 5.30.57 PM.png

I’ve spoken and blogged about the greatness of Zaption a couple times but it just really is that great.  Zaption allows you to add interactive elements to any video you find on Youtube, Vimeo, and pretty much any video hosting site.  Plus, you get analytics and feedback from the questions you ask and other features of the video.

There are other sites that do this well but Zaption is my go-to.  There is also:

Screen Shot 2016-02-07 at 5.35.02 PM.png

Screen Shot 2016-02-07 at 5.37.01 PM.png

So, there you have it.  Hopefully, these sites and tools will help YOU enhance your Youtube experience.  What other tools can you add to this list.

Name for blog

Leave a Reply

