Rules Can Be a kaHOOT!

Okay, so I totally stole this idea from Alison Cabello.  Here is her blog post about her Kahoot rules: http://cabelloelementarymusic.blogspot.com/2015/09/start-off-music-with-kahoot.html

I’ve done rules several different ways.  I’ve sung the rules. I’ve done rules using memes.  I’ve even done a Jeopardy style version of the rules.  I use Mr. Potato Head with the Pre-K babies.  I understand the importance of rules, however, the majority of my students (even being on a military base) come back the next year.  I don’t have the same students for several years in a row but, on average, students stay for about three years or so.  Of course, there are exceptions to that but the majority of the students I had in May will still be here in August so most of my students already know me and my expectations.  Plus, because I see my students only once a week and students are constantly coming and going, we go over expectations having to do with different aspects of the class on a regular basis.

My little ones will still do their eyes and ears active listening rules and my 1st, 2nd, and 3rd graders will still sing the Rules of Music as before but my 4th and 5th graders get a new Rules lesson this year (insert sly smile).

If you don’t know how to use Kahoot, I have a post about it HERE.  The kids absolutely love it.

Presenting, in no particular order (because the questions are randomized)…

Screen Shot 2017-08-05 at 7.24.11 PM.png

By the way, we’re totally going to go over these questions and the correct answers as a class so no one will actually think the right answer is to interrupt class to yell and scream about it.  Remember, this is only for my upper elem grades.  I’d never do this with 1st graders.

 

Screen Shot 2017-08-05 at 7.24.34 PM.png

 

Screen Shot 2017-08-05 at 7.24.54 PM.png

This is a biggie for me across all the grade levels.  I won’t deny a student access to the restroom but I will ask if they can wait.  Usually, I’ll say something to the effect of “Can you wait four minutes?” just so they won’t miss the direct instruction and go during a transition.  More often than not, the student can wait.  This is not so much an issue with the older grades as it is with the younger ones who hear the word “restroom” and suddenly have a domino effect emergency.  Luckily, the classroom teachers are really good about giving students opportunities to use the restroom BEFORE specials and they let me know in front of their students that everyone had an opportunity.  That usually quells the urge.

Screen Shot 2017-08-05 at 7.25.14 PM.png

They are probably going to think “Have fun” is the answer.  It’s not.

Screen Shot 2017-08-05 at 7.25.35 PM.png

We review this statement EVERY TIME we use instruments of any kind in my classroom. “If you play before I say, it’s going to be taken away.”  Even the Pre-K babies know this statement.  The urge is there and, sometimes, it’s too much.  Students who lose their instruments have to air-play to earn it back.  It’s never very long because the goal is for students to participate but it works.

 

Screen Shot 2017-08-05 at 7.25.55 PM.png

I think I explained this above.

 

Screen Shot 2017-08-05 at 7.26.14 PM.png

I’m hoping this one is obvious.

 

Screen Shot 2017-08-05 at 7.26.31 PM.png

Same meme; different question.  This kind of goes with the “Ask three before me.”  I frequently write the directions down as well especially if they are multi-step.

 

Screen Shot 2017-08-05 at 7.26.47 PM.png

I am the mean teacher who does not give every student an E for Excellent in music.  E for Excellent is the highest score on a E, S, N, U scale.  If students refuse to participate for whatever reason, they do earn an E for Excellent.  I know, Mean Miss Coffey…giving each student the grade they earn rather than using the auto-grade feature.  Confession: sometimes I make life harder on myself.

Screen Shot 2017-08-05 at 7.27.08 PM.png

Again, I hope this is obvious.  I don’t think students are legit thinking “He, he, he…I’m being disrespectful to school property…he, he, he.  I don’t think they think about the consequences and implications of their graffiti doodles.  Some even say, “I love music.”  Still not okay, friends.

Screen Shot 2017-08-05 at 7.27.25 PM.png

 

“Miss Coffey, we only two minutes left of music.”

“And…”

“And, shouldn’t we be lining up?”

“Nope, we have one minute and 30 seconds until we need to line up.  I’d rather be doing something fun that waiting in a line.”

I only have 40 minutes once a week.  I’m going to use all 40 minutes.

Screen Shot 2017-08-05 at 7.27.45 PM.png

The answer is “by climbing them like stairs” in case it isn’t obvious.

Screen Shot 2017-08-05 at 7.28.02 PM.png

 

Screen Shot 2017-08-05 at 7.28.20 PM.png

BECAUSE I AM MEAN!!!

 

Screen Shot 2017-08-05 at 7.28.53 PM.png

I mentioned this above.  I hope the get the obviousness of this one with the meme.

Screen Shot 2017-08-05 at 7.29.09 PM.png

 

Screen Shot 2017-08-05 at 7.29.53 PM.png

#SorryNotSorry again for caring that students are in music when they are supposed to be in music.

 

I hope you enjoyed my meme Kahoot rules and I hope my students like them as well.  Like I said above, we’re totes going to go over these and the serious meaning of each.  I just want to start the year like we ended it in May: musical and fun.

Thanks for reading!

Name for blog

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Rules Can Be a kaHOOT!

Leave a comment