Just the Finishing Touches Remain….

A few weeks ago, (Click for before pictures) I started doing some moving, painting, and reorganizing in my classroom.  I’ve said this before and I’ll say it again.  If something doesn’t work or you don’t like something, change it.  I did not like how my room looked dirty all the time because of the nasty looking furniture that was stained with grime.  I did not like the shelves were labeled (LABELED!!) in black permanent marker.  Plus, due to the testing season, we are starting centers in the upper grades to give them quality instruction but at a lesser intensity.  All of my centers (for now) are places to review concepts we’ve learned through-out the year.  I also try to make them super fun in the 6th Grade (at least) since this is their last year they HAVE to be in music.  Starting next year, they can choose to be in band, choir, or nothing at all.  If this is their last foray in music ed, I want it to be a great memory and, maybe, just maybe, I can change a few minds and they’ll choose to participate in another music activity later on in their academic career.

Anyway, enough about that!  Let’s see some pictures of my new classroom layout!

As you can see, I still have some of the basic things as before.  The tape with the carpet in the middle for PK and Kinder and the risers on the far end for the upper grades.  You can’t see it here but the risers (on the left side of the carpet) face the interactive white board.  The new tape is courtesy of one of my students who was sequestered in my room after mock-testing and volunteered to be put to work.

From this angle, you can see I moved the third riser (only two fit in front of the white board without it being way too crowded) to accommodate the wii center.  Even when it is not used, having that riser there has really helped in confining students to one area of the room (which, when you have 20 3-year-olds is something that you think about).

Here is a close-up of my wii-less wii center.  It actually has the wii and several super fun music games (more info on that later).  I like that I can see what the students are doing from anywhere in the classroom (and even in my office even though I rarely go in there when students are in the room).  The cute animal hanger is from my nieces’ room.  I was going to buy one at Ikea but Curt offered me this one.  Free is always good!  I do have more pillows to add to the sad little pillow corner.  I thought, when it’s not in use as a wii center, it will make a cozy reading corner.

Here is yet another angle of my classroom.  You can see my freshly painted shelf in the back (courtesy of my student aide from the High School).

Isn’t it cute?!?!  It is black with pink inside (if you can’t tell).  Obnoxious color combos is one of my favorite things about being an elementary teacher.  Ha!  The tubs were in the dollar spot at Target.  They are perfect for housing some of the smaller instruments and it looks much neater with the keyboard instruments stacked on the floor instead.

Here is another perspective.  You can see my new listening center and the music in our schools month info.  Click HERE for more info on Music in Our Schools Month.

Here is a close-up of the listening center…nothing to fancy as of yet.

And, finally, the other painted shelf my student aide painting for me.  This is mostly my teacher area though I keep the student supplies (crayons, markers, scissors, etc) over there so they are easy to reach and put away even for my little guys.

So, there you have it.  I do have some other improvements that are yet to be completed.  For example, my mom and I are working on curtains for the backs of the risers so they can be more attractive.  Right now, all you can see down there is unfinished wood and dust bunnies. The curtains will also be great because I store the bigger instruments under there where they can still be accessible to students (rather than in the storage closet) but not out all the time.

Let me know if you have any suggestions or questions!  I love to share what works for me and, as always, am up for suggestions to make things better.

Thanks for reading!

10 thoughts on “Just the Finishing Touches Remain….

  1. Hi Cara, MK8 List fan here. Love your new room. I need ideas how to store seasonal items for programs/room decs etc. They have taken over my bedroom!! Where/how do you organize such items? thanks!
    De in Ohio

  2. Pingback: Music Tour Mania! | Rhythm And Glues

  3. Can you give me the dimensions of your risers? I would like to write a grant for the materials to build them. They look awesome!

Leave a comment